View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 30, 2005, 02:44pm
assignmentmaker assignmentmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Re: I no call it when:

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
If the contact is slight.

If the defender flops.

If the defender is so far under the basket that the contact had no affect on the play.

The contact is after the airborne shooter returns to the floor.

These are not absolutes, just a few situations that I've had no call.

lmeadski:

1. "If the defender is so far under the basket that the contact had no affect on the play."

If the offensive player is coming down the lane, and hasn't shown wanton disregard for the life and limb of the defender . . . I can live with this.

If, however, the offensive player is coming from the side (more or less), then the defender has no way of knowing whether or not the offensive player is going to attempt a shot or just go through to the other side - I'm a LOT more likely to have a call.

2. "The contact is after the airborne shooter returns to the floor."

This can be very complicated.

If the 'offensive' player is not longer in the air . . . then he or she is no longer the offensive player. If said former offensive player & ex-defender are inbounds, and if the ball is alive (hasn't gone through the basket), if there's a foul it's going to be a common foul; if, however, the ball has gone through the basket, such a foul would be, by rule, a (probably intentional) technical foul.

Many, many officials treat this kind of contact after the shooter has returned to earth as if the shooter were still airbone . In the girls game, the shooter may well have not been airborne in the first place, so extra vigilance needs be paid.
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote