| 
			
			 
			
				Thu Dec 29, 2005, 06:24am
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Jun 2000 Location: Portland, Oregon 
						Posts: 9,466
					 |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by Mark Dexter I've had 9 years' experience on the scorebook and on this board, sorting out correctible errors. Thought I had the rule cold - until tonight.
 
 Girls' JV, and the scorekeeper was an easily distracted varsity player (first foul I reported, she was talking on her cell phone). With 2 minutes left in the 4th quarter, I call a foul (B1 fouled A1) during rebounding action, and the scorekeeper tells me it's 1-and-1.
 
 I thought it was a bit odd (we didn't have a ton of fouls), but I tend to trust my scorekeepers (mistake #1!), so we awarded the 1-and-1, A1 misses the first shot. B rebounds, is coming upcourt when the scorer has me come over.
 
 Ok . . . unmerited free-throw, change in team posession, cancel the shot and all activity, clock doesn't get reset, ball goes back to the POI. No problem - EXCEPT - my brain somehow thought that POI would mean A getting the ball back instead of the point at which the game was interrupted to correct the error.
  
 At least I know the rule now (and how to correctly apply it). Also, I was at least somewhat convincing to the coaches.
 
 Best part - the scorer told me that her coach told her to keep track and tell the refs when there were 7 team fouls. Unfortunately, the coach failed to mention that it was per half.
 |  She's a varsity player and she didn't know about the team foul count?  She's worse than distractible, she's downright stupid.
 
If that's the worst correctible error error you ever make, you're a hero!!  Thank goodness it wasn't a State Tournament game, and forget it.
		 
			
			
			
			
				  |