Thread: Sell this one!
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 11:15am
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Lag time is dependent on the official seeing the clock as the whistle blew.

If the whistle blows and then the official sees the time, time SHOULD be corrected to the time the official saw, as lag time is interpreted to have occurred during the interval of whistle to look.
Oh? That ain't what case book play 5.10.1SitD(b) says.
COMMENT: Timing mistakes which may be corrected are limited to those which result from the timer's neglect to stop or start the clock as specified by the rules. The rules do not permit the referee to correct situations resulting in normal reaction time of the timer which results in a “lag” in stopping the clock. By interpretation, “lag or reaction” time is limited to one second when the official's signal is heard and/or seen clearly. One second or the “reaction” time is interpreted to have elapsed from the time the signal was made until the official glanced at the clock.

Like I said whistle with look together 1 second may run off. Whistle THEN look, put the time back that was on at the look.

Nevada never stated specifically when the official looked to see .6, so both options may be in play.
Reply With Quote