
Wed Dec 14, 2005, 11:04am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by FrankHtown
I had a crappy T last night. Girl's Varsity. Decent level of play. First three minutes of the game. Team A inbounding on side line right by scorer's table. Team B player, defending the throw in, jumps at least 8 inches out of bounds, towards the thrower. I stop play, issue a delay warning against Team A. Bounce the ball to A for throw-in. B player...second jump is out of bounds, in the thrower's face...right after her coach had told her to get back. I called the T. Just as a review for all, it counts as a Team Technical,..goes against team foul count, but not assessed to a player (my partners said it should count towards player...we told both coaches we would confirm at half time, and adjust if necessary).
At a break, my partners said that's one T you probably should ignore, and I said...you know...that is a crummy way to get a T, and if it was on the far side of the court, I might have been a little more patient, but being right in front of the scorer's table, with both coaches having a clear view of the delay warning, and the subsequent violation, how could I maintain any credibility if I let it slide.
I do have to mention, however, not one defender for either team got in a thrower's face after that.
|
No problem with that T Frank, but just a quick question. Before giving the ball to team A for the throw-in after the warning, did you specifically address player B1? I know you went to the table and gave a warning, but it sounds like B1 doesn't have the rule knowledge that we like varsity players to have. I think if you had said, "hey #32, you can't break this plane. If you do it again it will be a technical foul and the other team will get two free throws," it may have prevented it.
Z
|