View Single Post
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 10, 2005, 09:53am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
I was about to say that the language in 7-5-7, any point outside the end line, is simply substituted for designated- spot in 9-2-1, but then I realized that this can't be true because the "thrower" may put the ball on the floor OOB or pass it to an OOB teammate and then leave the end line prior to the release of the throw-in pass when the throw-in is an end line throw-in.

Hmmm... all I can say is that 7-5-7 seems to be infinged here, but maybe not. Perhaps we should consider this jumping thrower to still be making the throw-in from a point outside the end line since that is where he jumped from.

Also, there is no penalty provided for violating 7-5-7.

If really pressed, the only rule I could point to in this case to defend calling a violation is 9-2-5. Carry the ball onto the court.
Reply With Quote