View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 09, 2005, 07:25am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
That depends upon how you interpret the following parts of 7-5-7:

"and from any point outside the end line"

"a teammate(s) outside the boundary line"


To me the presence of the word "outside" in the rule means this way of making a throw-in is illegal even during a non-designated-spot end line throw-in.


Then why isn't it a violation if the thrower has some miscellaneous body parts, like his arms, inside the end line while he's making the throw-in?
As you know all the other provisions written for the designated-spot throw-in still apply when a team is permitted to run the end line. The only differences are what is specified in 7-5-7. Therefore, he only has to keep one foot on or over "any point outside the end line" instead of the designated spot.

That's nice.

Are you gonna answer the question above though?
Reply With Quote