View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2005, 10:36am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
1) If the inadvertant whistle happened during a try, as above, if the ball subsequently goes in, you count the basket and then the team scored on will get an end-line throw-in. Good catch by Kelvin.
2) If the inadvertant whistle happened during as try and the ball didn't subsequently go in, you go with an AP. Good catch by Tony.

If, as Bob J. said above, you (unlikely) rule it as an inadvertant whistle during a pass, then you would go to POI and the team in possession would get a throw-in.
All three of these situations are actually resumed at the POI; and covered quite nicely in 4-36-2.

Gotta know those definitions!!
Um, on the case book cite given, wasn't there a sentence just after the "RULING" that said "The ball is put in play at the point of interruption", and that particular sentence covered the 3 situations following from that case book play? No?
You're grumpy this morning! Yes, the case play says it. But your post didn't. Your post sounded like, "You've these two situations. But if happens the way Bob says, then you go to the POI."

I was just trying to bring out the point that they were all resumed at the POI, not just Bob's sitch.

Still grumpy? Or are you happy now? No? Which dwarf would you like to be? Doc? Sneezy?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote