View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 02, 2005, 04:39am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Kelvin green
I disagree on the one that hits the top of the backboard. You go POI unless no team control, but if the ball dropped thru the hoop and the player scores POI would be throw-in.

It depends on what happens with the ball
Not under NFHS rules. There's no POI except for double and simultaneous fouls.
I agree with both of you.

1) If the inadvertant whistle happened during a try, as above, if the ball subsequently goes in, you count the basket and then the team scored on will get an end-line throw-in. Good catch by Kelvin.
2) If the inadvertant whistle happened during as try and the ball didn't subsequently go in, you go with an AP. Good catch by Tony.

If, as Bob J. said above, you (unlikely) rule it as an inadvertant whistle during a pass, then you would go to POI and the team in possession would get a throw-in.

All these situations are covered completely under new case book play 7.5.4:

7.5.4 SITUATION:
An official sounds his her whistle accidentally:
(b) while team A is in control and passing among teammates
(c) while A's unsuccessful try attempt is in flight
(d) while A's successful try attempt is in flight.
RULING:
The ball is put in play at the point of interruption.
(b) Team A is awarded a throw-in at the nearest out-of-bounds spot to where the ball was when the whistle was accidentally sounded.
(c) The ball is put in play by the team entitled to the throw-in using the alternating-possession procedure.
(d) even though, by rule, there is no team control during this dead ball period, the ball would be given to team B for a throw-in anywhere along the end line. Team B would have clearly received the ball had the official not accidentally sounded his/her whistle.
- 7-4-4; 4-12-3,6; 4-36.
Reply With Quote