View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2005, 09:13am
SamIAm SamIAm is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally posted by SmokeEater
Quote:
Originally posted by oc
During a jump ball to start the game, jumper A1 taps the ball and jumper B1 catches the ball before the jump ball ends.

The official awards the ball to team A and sets the arrow to team A. Is the official correct?

This question is from the IAABO computer program. I got it wrong but can't find out exactly why. I remember this rule changing a few years ago but don't save all the old books in my attic.
The first legal possession is by B on the throw in. Therefore the arrow should be set in A's favor.
SE - Read more. Smoke less.

mj - Correct-NFHS, Team A gets the ball. Team B gets the arrow. It was changed a few years ago as it was penalizing the violating team twice.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote