View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 21, 2005, 12:14pm
ChrisSportsFan ChrisSportsFan is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,592
Quote:
Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
How many officials actually call 3-seconds according to the rule? Who applies it only when it provides a real advantage? If A5 is camped out in the lane for 10 seconds, but never touches the ball, do you waste the whistle?

Got into a discussion about this over the weekend, and was criticized (if you want to call it that) for how I use/apply this rule. I give verbal warnings to "get out, get moving", but I don't penalize unless the player in question actually receives the ball. This is the way most assignors that I work for advise to handle the 3-second call, so as not to interrupt the game flow. Just wondering how others handle this.
Hypothetically, 10 seconds in the lane should draw a whistle. I usually try my best to chase guys out or get a captain to chase them out (1st Q) but I will not embarrase myself or my crew by letting someone grow roots in there.
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you?
Reply With Quote