Thread: Safety
View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 03, 2001, 11:47am
Middleman Middleman is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally posted by germump
I forgot that you have more than one set of rules. We do only have one.
We are playing under NCAA rules with few exceptions in Germany.

[/B]
In that case, sir, you are probably correct. NCAA rules are entirely different than Fed - including team designations during kick plays. My apologies to you and all the NCAA officials out there.

A little research into NCAA rules (and I do mean a little!) reveals the following AR:6-3-9-VI. "A Team B player touches a scrimmage kick in flight in Team B's end zone, and Team A downs the ball in the end zone. RULING: Team A touchdown (Rules 6-3-3 and 8-2-1-e)."

The kick becomes dead when it touches the ground in Team B's end zone untouched by Team B (6-3-9). The touching by Team B in this play makes a big difference.

NCAA rule 8-2-1-e says it's a touchdown.

You learn something new every day!
Reply With Quote