Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by RedRef
1) A1 takes a shot at his basket. The ball rebounds such that after hitting the rim, it sails to the left of the rim, completely outside and left of the cylinder, and still above rim level.
2) B1 jumps to secure the rebound. While trying to secure the rebound, B1 accidentally taps the ball toward the basket.
3) The ball sails over the cylinder, still above the rim. The buzzer sounds and light goes off ending the period. The ball passes through the basket.
Is the basket good?
P.S. Team A down by 1 when the play starts.
|
2) B1's tap isn't a try because it's not directed at his team's basket. Rule 4-41-2.
3) B1's tap was still in the air when the horn sounded. The ball now becomes dead, as per rule 6-7-6. You cannot score a goal if the ball isn't live, as per rule 5-1-1.
|
Technically, it's not even a tap. A tap has to be directed at a player's own basket. It's just a bat of a live ball that becomes dead as soon as time expires. Same result.
[Edited by Mregor on Nov 17th, 2005 at 09:30 PM]