Quote:
Originally posted by refTN
what about the jump stop foul I explained?
|
I don't have a clue what "traveling" is in the NBA. I also can't figure it out just by watching a game, mainly because "who" and "when" seems to apply to that call also in the NBA.
In your example, under NCAA and FED rules, you're
ending your
dribble or finishing catching a pass during that jump stop. You're not in the act of shooting during a jump stop, so any foul committed during that time is naturally a non-shooting foul. Once the jump stop stop ends with both feet on the floor, then any further shooting move to the basket is the start of the "try". This type of try usually coincides with going off both feet to shoot. In that case, after a jump stop, when you go up neither foot can then come back down before the ball leaves your hand on the shot, or it's traveling. There's no such concept of step with one foot and then off the pivot foot involved.