View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2005, 01:20pm
dumbref dumbref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
First of all, the neutral zone does not expand for everyone. 7-5-11b “contact by A is immediately made on a B lineman and the contact does not continue beyond the expanded neutral zone”. So even if an A lineman is beyond the “neutral zone” – he is down field illegally unless he is blocking a B lineman.

The pass can not “cross the neutral zone” 7-5-7 (not expanded neutral zone) to eliminate the pass restrictions. So it has to be caught in or behind the neutral zone.

Now that is by rule. In a game if it is that dang close - let it go.
Reply With Quote