View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 01, 2001, 01:33pm
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Kelvin green
Go figure... I can actually see a non airborne shooter in the act of shooting heres an extract from the original...(b) shooter A1 is fouled in the act of shooting after time expires. and the answer...b) When the foul occurs after the second half has clearly ended, the extra period shall begin with the free throws.

The ruling on A was pretty easy since he was fouled before time expired, then with a "lag" or something the buzzer goes off so time has expired and soot two free throws...

Now for b...
It clearly says act of shooting after time expires. Here's where I have a fundamental issue with the ruling and question but I am picking apart their stuff.

So he is in the act of shooting, the ball is still in his hands, in the act, and he gets fouled after the horn has gone off...( he is some continuous motion to the basket or clearly shooting flat footed or a turn around hook where both feet never leave the floor etc...., but buzzer then foul, and ball is not away.)

It appears the NCAA is saying that since the person was in the act of shooting, the foul would be called even though the ball is dead. He was in the act so it has to be called but it is not a dead ball foul (T) because the act started before the ball became dead and it cant be ignored since he was in the act at the time the second half ended. The horn sounded/time expired with game tied, the foul then happens after the half so the FT's are administered to start OT.

Try explaining any of this the a coach why he shouldnt be shhoting to win the game, or converesely explain to the other coach why it was a foul. This play is a conumdrum that if it ever happened no one would be happy....

I think the foul that occurs after the horn it should be ignore altogether unless flagrant or intentional but who I am?

So I contend you can be in the act there and not be airborne but like you said its a great dscussion to have us think about definitions!!!

Hmmm, take a look at 6-6, Ball Does Not Become Dead,
Art 1 & 2. Says in black in white the ball must
be in flight for the ball to remain live on a foul at the
end of a period. This is a good one, aint it!
Reply With Quote