ljudge, I think this play is a bit different than you envision it.
What I'm seeing is the linemen 4-5 yards downfield pretending to run block, and the receiver (who is supposed to be behind the line of scrimmage) drifts too far downfield, making the catch either (a) less than a yard, or (b) more than a yard beyond the line of scrimmage.
In (a), I have no foul, as the pass did not go beyond the neutral zone. In (b), I have a flag - at minimum, there are ineligibles downfield. If they've made contact with anyone, then it's OPI.
I agree that if the linemen go two yards or less, then no foul in either situation.
|