Quote:
Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jimgolf
Why is this a foul on A1? Considerable contact is allowed on this play.
|
As long as the two players start from equally advantageous positions. If B1 is on the floor and reaching for the ball and A1 lands on top of him, that's a foul.
|
That's part of the rule, but not the complete rule. "Contact which occurs unintentionally in an effort by an opponent to reach a loose ball or contact which may result when opponents are in equally favorable positions to perform normal defensive or offensive movements, should not be considered illegal, even though the contact may be severe".
|
I agree with Jim completely. There's no information available in the original post that would let us determine whether there was a foul or incidental contact. Just lying on top of an opponent does not mean that a foul has been committed.
No matter what, whether a foul occurred or didn't occur is completely irrelevant to the original question-- which is "is this a travel or not?".