View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2001, 06:18pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Kelvin green
First in response to BktBallRef... there is no place in the original about the airborne shooter. The airborne shooter creates an issue that you wonder if the NCAA did not overlook. It would not be the first time the ruling body messed up on an interpretation.

Here's the play from the original post.
With the score tied near the expiration of time in the second half (a) shooter A1 is fouled in the act of shooting just before time expires or (b) shooter A1 is fouled in the act of shooting after time expires.
R U L I N G : (a) When the foul occurs before the ball becomes dead and the period has ended, A1 shall shoot the two free throws. When one free throw is successful, the game is over. If one free throw is not successful, the game continues with an extra period(s). (b) When the foul occurs after the second half has clearly ended, the extra period shall begin with the free throws.



Now, look at 4-40-1
The act of shooting begins simultaneously with the start of the try or tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight, and includes the airborne shooter.

There is no other way for the foul to occur unless the player is an airborne shooter. If a player who is standing on the floor and has released the shot is no longer in the act of shooting. For the player to be fouled in the act of shooting after time has expired, he has to be an airborne shooter who has not returned to the floor..

So yes, the airborne shooter is in the original question/ruling.

************************************************** ***
With regards to Mark and Cameron, I will be glad to accept your interpretation if you can show me why the act of shooting extends the period. Now, as you said Mark, I'm not saying your response is illogical. But it is not addressed in the rules that the act of shooting extends the period. In fact, the play that you say is wrong is in the NCAA rule book. The play sates that the foul occurs after the period ends and the FTS are part of the next period. If I'm wrong, then the rule book is wrong and needs to be corrected.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote