View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 31, 2001, 11:14am
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
The airborne shooter definition extends the time of the act of shooting to when the shooter comes back down and touches the court, meaning the try could have ended by definition, but the act of shooting has not ended.
You're wrong Mark and you haven't cited anything that that proves the NCAA Rulebook play incorrect. When the try ends has nothing to due with when the act of shooting ends. When the try ends, the half ends. There's absolutely nothing in the rulebook that says the act of shooting extends the period. If that were true, a airborne player who was in the act of shooting could release the ball after the buzzer and it would count. That's why you were unable to cite a rule that states that the act of shooting extends the period.

Kelvin, the shooter in b is an airborne shooter. You cannot ignore contact on an airborne shooter, even if the ball is dead when the foul occurs.
Ah, but an airborne player is not the same as an
airborne shooter. The airborne shooter is granted
special status under both sets of rules that an airborne
player does not have.

FWIW, I'm siding with Mark on this, in fact I had envisioned
this play as relatng to obvious after the shot dead ball
fouls (T's), as Kelvin mentions above. It's not consistent
with the play scenario I know but I can't see any other
way to explain it.
Reply With Quote