I am not sure that the ruling in (b) is correct, which is not suprising because sometimes the rulings are made without looking at all of the rules that apply to the particular play.
Lets look at (b) all by itself.
A1 goes airborne (becomes an airborne player) and then releases a try for goal (becomes an airborne shooter) before time expires. A1 is an airborne shooter until he/she touches the court. The clock exprires and then the ball goes throw the basket, A1 is still airborne and is then fouled by B1.
Score the basket, two points for Team A (and A1). Personal foul by B1 against a player in the act of shooting, A1 is awarded one free throw.
NCAA R4-S1-A2: An airborne shooter is in the act of shooting.
A.R.1: A1 is in the air on a jump shot in the lane. A1
releases the ball on a try and is fouled by B1, who has
jumped in an unsuccessful attempt to block the shot.
A1's try is: (a) successful; or (b) unsuccessful.
RULIING: A1 shall be an airborne shooter when the ball
is released until he/she returns with one foot touching
the floor. An airborne shooter shall be in the act of
shooting. B1 has fouled A1 in the act of shooting. A1
shall be awarded one free throw in (a), and two in (b).
NCAA R5-S7-A2c: When a foul occurs so near the expiration of time that the official timer cannot stop the clock before time expires or when the foul occurs after time expires but while the ball is in flight during a try. The period shall end when the free throw(s) and all related activity have been completed.
In Play (b) above, the only thing that has happened is that playing time has expired, the second half has not ended until all related activity has been completed. Yes, R5-S7-A2c talks about the ball being in flight, but R4-S1-A2 prevails in this play.
If the score is tied and A1 makes his/her free throw, the game is over; or if A1 misses his/her free throw the game goes to overtime. If Team A is down by one point, and A1 makes his/her free throw, the game goes to overtime; or if A1 misses his/her free throw the game is over. If the outcome of the game will not change whether A1 makes his/her free throw or not, the free throw is not shot and the game is over.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|