Thread: Play of the Day
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 03, 2005, 09:19am
l3will l3will is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: minnesota
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally posted by yankeesfan
Quote:
Originally posted by l3will
Isn't it a loose ball play since A fumbled behind the original line of scrimmage? 10-3-1c

So in b, isn't it first down for A at A's 18 after enforcement?
The basic spot on a loose ball play is the previous spot,
A's 3.
this is not a loose ball play, don't get confused by the fumble.
Okay, why isn't it part of a loose ball play????

Rule 10-3-1 A loose ball play is action duing:
c. A backward pass (including the snap), illegal kick or fumble by A from behind the neutral zone and prior to a change of team possession.

play was 1st and ten from A's 3 (97 yards to go for a touchdown for A); A fumbles on the 2 yard line; that is behind the neutral zone, when B kicked the ball in the end zone it was a loose ball and team possession had not changed.

So why isn't the basic spot the previous spot?
Reply With Quote