Thread: rules
View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 08:38pm
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by ThickSkin
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ThickSkin
I have a question I just thought of... On a ten second count in the backcourt does the ball have to be possessed by someone on the same team in the front court before ten seconds?

I say yes but don't have my rule books here to confirm it.
You wouldn't be able to confirm it even if you had your rule books available.

The answer is no. The 10-second count terminates as soon as the ball hits the floor or any player, including opponents, in the frontcourt too. That includes hitting an official in the front court also.

Casebook play 9.8SitB.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Nov 1st, 2005 at 09:08 AM]
If the ball is still in flight? Example: Count is at 9.5/10 I throw the ball from my backcourt to the front court (one of those high arching Joe Montana passes LOL!) and as the official gets to ten he has a 10 second violation. Is he correct?
ThickSkin
Well, yeah the official is correct.
But my count was at 9.6, ..... 9.7.
M'bad.
mick
Reply With Quote