Here's today's Play of the Day:
It is first and 10 on A's 3. Runner A1 fumbles on his 2-yard line. B1 intentionally kicks the loose ball which is: (a) on A's 2; or (b) in the end zone. The ball then goes out of bounds behind the goal line.
-----------------------
Ruling: Undoubtedly, Team A will decline the penalty in (a) and take the touchback. A will accept the penalty in (b), because declining it would give B a safety.(8.5.1D)Casebook
Ok, Please help me out here. I'm thinking out loud...the result of the play is a touchback. The basic spot is end of run, 2-yard line, so in a) accept the penalty 1&10 A 17; decline 1&10 A 20. Now I'm struggling with b) accept the penalty 1&10 A 17??? and if decline why would it be a safety??
|