View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 28, 2005, 08:44am
SamIAm SamIAm is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally posted by flaref0812
I know I asked this question prior, but I've thought of different scenarios, which I need an answer.

Scenario 1
The original post involved A1 shooting @ Team A's basket ( the one being defended) and B1 goaltends (why, I don't know because it would be 2 points for Team B, duh). The answers I got was if shot scores then credit Team B with 2 points and A gets ball OOB at baseline. If A doesn't score then play resumes. Also in Casebook 5.2.3

Scenario 2
Same as scenario 1 except: 1) shot scores and B1 fouls A1; and 2) shot doesn't score but B1 still fouls A1.

My questions are 1) What is the call?; 2) Who gets the ball and where; and 3) Are any FT shot?

Thank you for your answers
Someone els can quote the rule references -
No goaltending on a shots at the wrong basket (excluding crazy situations at the start of a game that include teams going the wrong direction). It is not a try. Also if the foul occurrs before the non-try goes in, the ball is dead, no basket. Either way a common foul unless flagrant or intentional.

However you could have basket interference resulting in two points. I dont think you can BI for three when the ball is shot at the wrong goal (I could use a little help on that one friends).
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote