View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 24, 2001, 12:18pm
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by JimNayzium
NF: i have read about the where's the tee in the casebook on this forum only. I realize my knowledge of the casebook should be better, however, as a coach, with only a NF rulebook handy, what rule specifically makes any action by the offense to create a situation that the snap is not imminent illegal. I am not questioning everyone's expertise on this subject, i have just always read the rule book only , not the casebook. Where in the NF rulebook can I deduce that a play like this would be illegal. Again i am not questioning i just want to know?

The specific play I am referring to would be a quarterback trying to draw a team offsides and then acting like he is walking to his bench to call timeout. when the defense jumps and celebrates the fact they have not jumped offsides the offense hikes the ball to the fullback.

i realize now i have a "Where's the Tee" type situation, but where in the NF rulebook makes this illegal? thanks.
The only place I have ever gotten the information about the "Where's the Tee" play is in the casebook. I might suggest spending the extra money to get the casebook every year.

My guess is that the "Where's the tee?" play violates one of the provisions of Unsportsmanlike Conduct. I'm without my rulebook today, so I can't provide any reference for it.

__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote