View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 25, 2005, 02:56pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
This feels wrong, and I don't work FED, so bear with me.

Change this to B running it out to the 10, with a BIB on the 13. Where do you penalize from when the EOR is behind the penalty? The 10 in this case? Or the 13?

If the 10, why are you not penalizing from the EOR (or succeeding spot)? Is it because the foul was behind the succeeding spot (and not the End Of Run)?
REPLY: mcrowder...I might be mistaken, but I believe that this play is ruled identically in Federation and NCAA. Since the final result of the play is a TB (Federation words) and the foul occurred after a change of team possession in the end zone and the ball was declared dead there (NCAA words - NCAA 10-2-2-f-2), the basic spot of enforcement is the succeeding spot (B's 20). But since this play involved a foul by the offense behind the basic spot, it becomes a spot foul.

In your situation (B runs it out to the 10; BIB on the 13), penalize from the 10 because the end of the run (basic spot) was behind the spot of the foul. Once B brings the ball out of the endzone, the fact that he was ever there becomes immaterial.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote