View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 24, 2005, 12:08pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by ChickenOfNC
I was LJ. Receiver on my sideline gets jammed by the corner who's playing him tight. Rides him out of bounds. It was clean (no holding, etc.) The receiver gets back inbounds quickly and as soon as he establishes himself inbounds, the ball hits him in the hands. He catches and steps right back out of bounds. I rule a catch (player was forced OOB and returned at first opportunity)

All this happened pretty quick, so the thought in my head was whether the ball was in the air while the corner was still contacting the WR (possible DPI)

Obviously, I'm not looking back at the QB, so I can't tell. Would this be for the BJ to help out on?
You do not make it clear if the defender "forced" him out after he caught the ball, or if he simply stepped OOB's on his own. It would also depend on if the defender stopped the receivers forward progress when he forced him OOB's or if he took him the same direction he was headed. Need a little more information to help you out.
Reply With Quote