View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 18, 2005, 09:45pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally posted by Zebra in NV
I've got a question regarding motion in NFHS rules (I'm a pretty new official). Any input would be appreciated.

From 7-2-7
Only one A player may be in motion at the snap and then only if such motion is not toward his opponent's goal line.

Sit: WO has established himself as a back and goes in motion angling toward his opponents goal (and his LOS) but is running somewhat parallel to the LOS.

Is it only illegal motion if he is still angling toward the LOS at the snap?

Prior to the snap, if the motion does not simulate the snap, is a back that goes in motion toward the opponents goal legal?

(In 7-2-7 it seems as if the player in motion can be going any direction as long as he's not specifically going toward the opponent goal on the snap)
He cannot be going towards his opponents goal line "at all" at the snap. Both of your examples would be a live ball foul for illegal motion at the snap.
Reply With Quote