View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2005, 05:47pm
Kirby Kirby is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 108
I have a new spin on this play:

Rule 6-2-4
Any kicker may catch or recover a scrimmage kick while it is beyond the neutral zone or the expanded neutral zone, provided such kick has been touched by a receiver who was clearly beyond the neutral zone at the time of touching. Such touching is ignored if it is caused by K pushing or blocking R into contact with the ball...

In my opinion, the spirit behind 6-2-4 would apply to the play first posted in this thread. Even though the K player pushed an R player who was not going to catch the kick, K's pushing R2 into R1 caused the muff which could be argued is covered by rule 6-2-4.

My ruling: Ignore the touching by R and consider K's recovery as first touching. R's ball at the spot of K's recovery and no foul for KCI.
Reply With Quote