View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 16, 2005, 09:45am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Bobby Oakes
Saw an instance where the ball is placed in the hands of a foul shooter when a sub comes on to the floor without being beckened. A technical was called and the foul line was emptied to allow the previous foul shots to complete, including the first one, which was a 1 and 1. The question is: Did the unbeckoned players interruption also create a foul violation that would have dosallowed the first, and in this case the only fould shot because of the 1 and 1?

I take it that the illegal substitution was made by a teammate of the FT shooter.

You answered your own question already. The penalty for an illegal substitution is a technical foul. Illegal substitution isn't a violation. There is no rules language that would allow you to cancel a merited free throw without a violation of some kind by the shooting team.

Welcome to the forum, Bobby.
Reply With Quote