View Single Post
  #106 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 13, 2005, 11:53pm
Carl Childress Carl Childress is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by NDblue
It wasn't dropped or mishandled by the catcher.
But the batter is still entitled to run, even though the catcher did not drop the ball. That's the reason "dropped third strike" creates confusion. Your message proves that.

Here's the rule in OBR. It's the same in NCAA and FED.

2.00 CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight....

2.00 IN FLIGHT describes a batted, thrown, or pitched ball which has not yet touched the ground or some object other than a fielder.

6.05(b): The batter is out when a third strike is legally caught by the catcher. Note: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground.
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote