View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 12, 2005, 03:34am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by rmr1119
I would totally agree with this. I am still trying to understand the logic behind the NFHS NOT making the high school rule the same as the NCAA rule. I guess to me, it just makes sense that a player with the ball in hand, standing out of bounds, is in control, hence his/her team is in control. Perhaps a way to ask the question is, how is the team NOT in control?

[/B]
Well... probably because the NFHS rules still say so.

NFHS rule 4-12-6 sez "Neither team control or player control exists during a throw-in...".

Under NCAA rules, a team does have team control after the ball has been given to them for a throw-in.

Iow, completely different rules. No logic involved. We just gotta follow what we're given. [/B][/QUOTE]

Like JR says, it is very important to go with what the rules say, and not summary questions such as the one in red posed by rmr1119.

Why?

I just got my new rules book today, and while reading the new definition of a team-control foul, I noticed that not all player-control fouls qualify as team-control fouls.

The AIRBORNE SHOOTER is the exception.
However, the penalty is still the same (unlike NCAA men).

Reply With Quote