View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 10, 2005, 12:06pm
Smitty Smitty is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Re: A slightly different twist

Quote:
Originally posted by Rizzo21
I had this come up in the last game I did. Team A was awarded possession on held ball. Team A coach called time-out to set up an offensive play. During the time-out, we checked to make sure the arrow was correct and it was not so Team B would be awarded the ball. We notified each team of the mistake seconds before the time-out ended. Team A coach said, according to the rules, he should not be charged a time-out (he was also a referee) since he called it under the assumption that they had the ball. Neither one of us had heard about this and proceeded with the game without giving back his time-out. He and my partner were acquianted so he didn't argue about it but still insisted it was a rule.

Anybody know of a rule that "gives back" a time-out in this situation?

No such rule. That's just silly.
Reply With Quote