A slightly different twist
I had this come up in the last game I did. Team A was awarded possession on held ball. Team A coach called time-out to set up an offensive play. During the time-out, we checked to make sure the arrow was correct and it was not so Team B would be awarded the ball. We notified each team of the mistake seconds before the time-out ended. Team A coach said, according to the rules, he should not be charged a time-out (he was also a referee) since he called it under the assumption that they had the ball. Neither one of us had heard about this and proceeded with the game without giving back his time-out. He and my partner were acquianted so he didn't argue about it but still insisted it was a rule.
Anybody know of a rule that "gives back" a time-out in this situation?
|