View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 10, 2005, 11:04am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by rmr1119
[/B]
I would totally agree with this. I am still trying to understand the logic behind the NFHS NOT making the high school rule the same as the NCAA rule. I guess to me, it just makes sense that a player with the ball in hand, standing out of bounds, is in control, hence his/her team is in control. Perhaps a way to ask the question is, how is the team NOT in control?

[/B][/QUOTE]Well... probably because the NFHS rules still say so.

NFHS rule 4-12-6 sez "Neither team control or player control exists during a throw-in...".

Under NCAA rules, a team does have team control after the ball has been given to them for a throw-in.

Iow, completely different rules. No logic involved. We just gotta follow what we're given.
Reply With Quote