Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
I think I could reply to a lot of posts on this board with, "well, I would have done it exactly right the first time instead." Not sure that helps anyone though and it really does come off as holier-than-thou.
|
As I said, Z, I'm not trying to come off as better than anybody. We've been on this forum for a long time, and you and I have never butted heads. So hopefully you know that I'm not just talking trash. Let me try to say things in a different way.
You knew who was getting the ball. You were the one who give the initial direction signal after the held ball. When I'm in that situation, I have a little mental dialogue going while I'm counting players. White ball, then switch the arrow. White ball, then switch the arrow. If we're being efficient during the dead ball, this situation is easier to prevent. That's all I was trying to say.
And as I did say, I would rather be a little too quick on the whistle in this sitch and be wrong, then be too slow and have to "fix" it by ignoring the rules.
Quote:
I just don't get Chuck's take that we would have been screwed if the white coach had known the rule.
|
I don't get how you don't get it.
It just seems to me that if the coach knows the rule and wants to make an issue of it (and he will make an issue of it), he's in the right and you will have 2 choices. 1) Admit that he's right and that you screwed up the original situation
and that you screwed up the "solution"; or 2) Tell him that he's wrong -- which is not going to go over well, b/c he knows he's right -- and end up T'ing him.
Here's what I've heard at camps. An assignor can back you to the hilt on your judgment. But nobody can back you up if you misapply the rules. Officials rarely get disciplined for judgment calls. When officials get disciplined, it's b/c they clearly missed something that affected the game (6 men on the court) or b/c they misapplied a rule.
Quote:
"Coach, I recognized it before the throw-in was complete but I hesitated due to my inherent insecurity." End of story.
|
Unless the coach knows the rule. Then it's not the end of story b/c he knows that "once the ball is touched, you can't give it back!" And "you just stole a possession from our team". And "yeah, it was a mistake, but that's not really my problem, is it? It's our ball!!" And on and on he'll go.
Quote:
How screwed would we have been had I let the play go on and then told the white coach, "Well sure coach, I recognized it before the pass was thrown, but by rule I'm not allowed to fix it once the ball is touched inbounds?"
|
I honestly don't know. But at least when he called your assignor, your assignor could say to him that you were right.
I'm honestly not trying to pick a fight. But it just seems to me that you can never get in trouble by applying the rules correctly. As always, JMO.