Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Common sense worked fine. There were no problems. There would have been a complete hornet's nest if we would have allowed red to go score a layup on the confused white team because the official's gave the ball to the wrong team after correctly awarding it to white. Common sense officiating often trumps Hoyle.
|
I'm glad that you didn't have problems. But
if the coach happens to know the rule, you're screwed. That's all I'm saying.
Quote:
I have a hard time believing that you would have just let red score.
|
Not to be holier-than-thou, but I would've blown my whistle before the red kid got the ball. I'd rather say "Wait a minute" and be wrong, than let it go and have to do what you had to do.
Quote:
Besides, it you want to get "rulesy" about it, you can re-read my post and see that I recognized the mistake before the ball was inbounded (so before the throw-in was completed) and I just had a delayed whistle.
|
I'm not sure that matters. According to the casebook play (6-4-1), I believe that once the throw-in pass is touched inbounds, the mistake cannot be corrected.