Quote:
Originally posted by rdodom
Ed,
1: "What makes any live ball dead? The ball is not in play NF 2-2-1." Refers to 2-1-1, not 2-2-1.
2: "So, once the player crosses the sideline the play is dead and action on the runner is no longer legal." I feel is also incorrect. The goal-line is a plane as in 2-25-3 but the sidelines are not planes.
The player is only out of bounds as in 2-28-1, when any part of him touches anything, other than another player of game official, who is on or outside a sideline or end-line.
A loose ball is out of bounds as in 2-28-3, when it touches anything, including a player of official, who is out of bounds.
In both cases, a player has to touch the ground out of bounds and a ball has to touch anything out of bounds to be considered out of bounds and DEAD. The play is still LIVE until either one of those happens.
There is only one exception I can think of that the sideline is a plane and that's on a free kick out of bounds in rule 6-1-8 and discussed in the case book under 6.1.8, situation C.
I do agree though that once the runner has crossed the sideline, pretty much any additional hits on him would draw a flag, even if he's still in the air. But that's if the contact wasn't initiated inbounds. In this play, the contact initiated inbounds, near the sideline.
It's been a great discussion on what seems to be a simple play. I still say, you have got to see this play to call it! I'd love to see the film on this play!
|
I stand corrected with the exception anytime contact is initiated out-of-bounds it is unnecessary.
I would love to see this play myself.
The fact according the information given is the clock had expired, therefore, regardless if the runner was stopped inbounds of out-of-bounds, extra action occurred on the runner when the ball was dead.
I read into what Coach said was the play was near the sideline and the runner and the defender continued to a point out of bounds. At that point, the play was dead. B's action, and I have seen this happen, was over and above the action, and Coach said 'slammed', was unnecessary to stop the play on two reasons:
- Play was out-of-bounds
- Action by A runner had been stopped