Thread: Tough to find
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 03, 2001, 08:58pm
Ed Hickland Ed Hickland is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally posted by Coachmerritt
Men I would really appreciate your input on this one... this happened to us in our first game and I have a good idea what the call should be...but can anyone help?

We had the ball 4th and goal on opponents 17 yd. line and we lined up to attempt a field goal with 7 seconds remaining in the first half. We bobbled the snap and the holder began to scramble. He was hit inbounds by an opposing defender and as they crossed the out of bounds line at the 16 yd. line the defender slammed the ball carrier down. The flag was thrown immediately, and the defender was called for a personal foul. Time had expired during the play.

The way I interpret the rules I felt:

Personal Foul illegal personal contact....half the distance...replay 4th down...untimed down.

Is this a correct reading of the rule?

Should the penalty have been considered a "dead ball" foul since it happened out of bounds...or would it be considered a foul that was on a continuing action?

If it was a dead ball foul how would that affect the ruling?

Thanks I really appreciate your help.

Chris Merritt
Coach, this is one you really need to see the play and understand what the official ruled before giving a definitive answer.

NFHS Rule 9-4-2g gives the official latitude as to the matter of unnecessary contact and that which might incite roughness. Therefore, your description of "slamming" and the fact it was out-of-bounds is why the personal foul penalty occurred.

The play was over and the period had ended. Dead ball foul.

Being that it was the second period, enforcement of the penalty will occur on the kickoff for the second half.

National Federation or NCAA does not have a rule for continuing action. Therefore, when a player is down or crosses the sidelines and goes out-of-bounds the play is dead and any action occuring after the play would be a dead ball foul and so it would be administered. NFHS Rule 3-3-5.

Your supposition presupposes the foul was a live ball foul which would have given you a replay according to NFHS rule 3-3-3a that requires the period be extended if a foul is accepted by either team.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote