Quote:
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by ref18  
K is flagged for No Yards at the point where K touches the ball. 
 
The penalty of 15 yards is applied from that spot.  [of illegal touching]
			
		 | 
	
	
 Why is K flagged for No Yards?  Where does it say that K was offside?  If K was onside, he's fair to it.  Ok, I guess it's fair to conclude that because K's touching was inadvertant, he was offside.  My point is not to assume.  I think the rules differences between our codes prompt some sitchs to not reveal all the info that we need for a conclusive ruling.
	Quote:
	
	
		
			
				Originally posted by ref18  
If K hadn't have touched the ball first, but was in the restraining zone at the time the ball was touched by R we would've had a no yards call with a 0 yards distance penalty because of the bounceback.   That flag is only thrown to ensure that possession is awarded to R. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 I think you have assumed that this K player no longer participated.  If that was the case, we do have a 0 yard NY application.  However, if K does participate, there is still a 15 yard penalty applied.