Thread: NF Question 20
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 03, 2005, 06:47am
waltjp waltjp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally posted by PSU213

K1's punt is high and short. R2 gives a valid signal. Ball lands beyond the NZ and then bounces behind it (I don't think the ball going beyond the NZ matters). K3 picks the ball up and begins to advance. Am I correct that in this case, the down would not end, but R2 would be able to block? Or, am I missing something obvious?
No, you're absolutely correct. Take the situation where the receiver signals for a fair catch but lets the ball hit behind him and hopefully roll into the the endzone. The receiver who gave the signal can't block covering K players to prevent them from downing the ball near the goal line.

I don't know what the controvery is about this. The rule clearly states that "A receiver who has given a valid or invalid fair-catch signal shall not block an opponent until the kick has ended." (Rule 9-3-3)
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote