The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 03, 2005, 06:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally posted by PSU213

K1's punt is high and short. R2 gives a valid signal. Ball lands beyond the NZ and then bounces behind it (I don't think the ball going beyond the NZ matters). K3 picks the ball up and begins to advance. Am I correct that in this case, the down would not end, but R2 would be able to block? Or, am I missing something obvious?
No, you're absolutely correct. Take the situation where the receiver signals for a fair catch but lets the ball hit behind him and hopefully roll into the the endzone. The receiver who gave the signal can't block covering K players to prevent them from downing the ball near the goal line.

I don't know what the controvery is about this. The rule clearly states that "A receiver who has given a valid or invalid fair-catch signal shall not block an opponent until the kick has ended." (Rule 9-3-3)
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1