View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 01, 2005, 10:51am
Carl Childress Carl Childress is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Edinburg, TX
Posts: 1,212
Send a message via ICQ to Carl Childress
Quote:
Originally posted by stmaryrams
USSSA tournament u12 - modified Fed rules.

Teams are allowed to bat the entire lineup.

Pitcher is removed from pitching but remains in the game whether or not in the field due to the option of batting the entire lineup.

Would he be allowed to reenter as pitcher under Fed rules?

Every tournament I've been involved with does not allow a pitcher to reenter at pitcher but allows them to play any other position.

Batting the line-up is not the same as a FED line-up with a DH.

If there is no FED DH, when the pitcher leaves, his sub will take his spot in the line-up. The pitcher may return once. If he does, his sub must leave, and he is dead.

If there is a DH hitting for the pitcher, the pitcher may leave the line-up. The DH will hit for his replacement, where ever the sub plays. The pitcher may reenter to pitch, with the DH continuing to hit for him. If the pitcher bats, the position of the DH is terminated. The DH may then reenter, but the pitcher would be gone and no longer eligible to play in that game.

There's no way to equate "bat the line-up" (10) with FED rules.
__________________
Papa C
My website
Reply With Quote