View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 27, 2005, 10:58am
closely_guarded closely_guarded is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 37
I survived working 6 games Fri. and 7 games Sat. in stifling heat. After realizing I was still alive and kickin' this AM, I have a couple questions and an observation:

1) GENERAL QUESTION: Ever call a lane violation that isn't your responsibility but your partner passes on it or else doesn't see it? I do this if it's obvious, but there's always the issue of stepping on partner's toes.

2) ACTUAL SITUATION: Another lane violation issue, first of two shots........I have a delayed violation with arm extended after a defensive player runs into his lane position about 2-3 secs. after shooter has ball. Violation was my area of responsibility. Partner apparently doesn't see my signal or understand it, steps in and takes ball from shooter, and resets the 2-shot situation. We have now in effect penalized the shooter. Coach rightfully complains, I talk to my partner at the next timeout. Question is, once partner has intervened (wrongfully), is there a remedy?

3) GENERAL OBSERVATION: The 3-second lane violation is the most misunderstood rule by fans and coaches. I heard fans screaming for 3 secs. and there wasn't even a player in the lane. I had a coach tell me a player was repeatedly in there for 5-6 secs. I'm thinking we probably wouldn't have missed that one.
Reply With Quote