View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 23, 2005, 12:45pm
Matthew F Matthew F is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally posted by aevans410
Think about it this way guysWhy would any team throw a "rainbow" to the outfield? Most players could go to the concession stand, get a hot dog and coke, go to the dugout and get a handful of seeds and then get to 3rd base before the throw got there.

There is no balk here, lets not try to make situations that prove each other wrong. There were a few people who know quite a bit about baseball telling you it isn't a balk, lets just leave it that way.
Because the defense could use this as a trick play...

The pitcher turns to throw towards 2B, F8 is breaking towards 2B, F1 lobs a throw to F8 who catches the ball about 25 feet behind 2B and guns down the runner advancing to 3B.

I understand that if the pitcher disengages the rubber, he can throw anywhere he wants. But if the pitcher is still in contact with the rubber, does a lob to the outfield constitute a balk since the pitcher is obviously not throwing to an occupied base?

And how many times have I heard on this board that umpires should take into account the pitcher's intent?!?
Reply With Quote