Thread: Your Call
View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 20, 2005, 02:52pm
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
Try to show, via the rulebook, that R3 is NOT allowed to physically assist R2.
You can't, except possibly by broad inference. The definition of a runner is
Quote:
an offensive player
check
Quote:
who has reached first base
check
Quote:
and has not yet been put out.
check.

The inference case can be made from Rule 8-7-P, where the retired runner is lumped together with a runner who has scored.

But, as I said, I'll let the protest committee make that inference. On the field, I'd allow the R3 assist of R2.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote