Ok another thread on another board got me thinking (dangerous). Here is situation, F6 going after batter ball R1 from 2nd running to 3rd. No arguement that if F6 and R1 collide as F6 is fielding the batted ball we have INT dead ball bye bye R1.
1) Now if F6 has fielded the ball and is coming up with it and then contact is made I would think we don't have INT (unless intentional) as F6 has completed fielding the ball, and is getting ready to throw it so I would think must be intentional to get INT. It wouldn't be OBS as the fielder has the ball. What if the fielder loses the ball as result of contact? I guess the root of the question is where would you judge that F6 has finished "fielding a batted ball"??
2) F6 (not real alert) throws the ball to first and as soon as ball is released contact is made between F6 and R1. Do we have OBS?
I know this is splitting hairs but I could see it happen with different results depending on the exact point of events easier to think about it here then on the field in a matter of milliseconds!
Thanks in advance.
|