View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 08, 2005, 01:05am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
I've got HBP...or dead ball-ball.

ASA 8-1-F makes no mention of the batter being in the box at the time of the HBP.

ASA 7-4-I says that a strike is called if it hits the batter while in the strike zone. However, the strike zone is always over the top of the plate (Rule 1). With your sitch, she was not hit in the strike zone.

It can't be an out like U_of_I_Blue suggests for making contact outside the box: ASA 7-6-D specifically states the ball contact is with the bat (not the body).

I think I've got a HBP...assuming she attempted to move out of the way. Otherwise Dead ball-ball.

However: Another line of thinking: ASA 7-3-D: Batter interference. It's not exactly the right call, but worth conversation here. Thoughts?

__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote