View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 06, 2000, 06:51pm
Paul in Seattle Paul in Seattle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 27
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Ralph Stubenthal on 02-06-2000 05:38 PM
A few nights ago, A1, in backcourt, passed to A2 who was also in backcourt. The ball was tipped by B1 and flew into A's frontcourt(B's backcourt) where it was first touched by B2. I called backcourt on B. However, B never had possession of the ball until B2 picked it up in her backcourt but it was last touched by B in frontcourt and then first touched by B in backcourt. I am 99% sure I made the right call but that 1% gives me a gutsick feeling.


Ralph,

Can't find a casebook ruling on this, but I'm afraid the 1% gutsick feeling is correct. For it to be a backcourt violation, B would have had to have team control for there to be a backcourt violation (9.9). Team B doesn't have control until the ball is secured in its backcourt. No violation.

You'll get the next one...

Paul

Reply With Quote