View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 29, 2005, 08:58am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Dribble
Informal poll please...exactly how many of you would call a T if B1 tipped the ball so it remains OOB after A1 passed to A2 who is also behind the baseline after a made basket?
T. Easy one, too. Who can argue about it? It's obvious and it's clearly the rule.

Quote:
I'm simply going to call an OOB infraction on B and award the ball back to A. The only catch is that A's throw-in now becomes a "spot" throw-in and you may have given Team B an advantage.
Worst possible option. If you want to issue a delay warning, since the plane was broken first, I can see it. If you want to completely ignore it and let A continue their play, I can see it. I don't agree with either of those, but I can see why you'd go that way.

But calling it OOB and giving A a spot throw-in is penalizing them at least twice. You killed their surprise play (or at least, unorthodox), you didn't give 2 FTs that they deserved, and then you force them into a spot throw-in. No thanks.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote